By state
SAT and ACT score ranges and acceptance rates for 14 four-year colleges in North Carolina, from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Ranges are the middle 50% of enrolled students — a quarter scored below the low number and a quarter above the high one.
| College | SAT (mid 50%) | ACT (mid 50%) | Acceptance |
|---|---|---|---|
| North Carolina State University at Raleigh | 1300–1470 | 28–32 | 42% |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte | 1140–1330 | 21–28 | 80% |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | 1390–1530 | 28–34 | 15% |
| East Carolina University | 1070–1240 | 21–26 | 89% |
| Appalachian State University | 1120–1280 | 21–27 | 90% |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington | 1230–1340 | 24–29 | 64% |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro | 1150–1355 | 22–27 | 88% |
| North Carolina A & T State University | 1020–1190 | 17–23 | 50% |
| Duke University | 1500–1570 | 34–35 | 6% |
| Wake Forest University | 1410–1520 | 32–34 | 22% |
| Davidson College | 1400–1530 | 31–34 | 13% |
| Johnson C Smith University | Not reported | Not reported | 45% |
| University of North Carolina School of the Arts | 1140–1370 | 22–29 | 30% |
| Brevard College | 870–1220 | 16–26 | 42% |
See how your own score compares against every school on this list.
Take a free practice test →FunSAT is a free browser-based SAT and ACT prep app: digital SAT and ACT practice tests, unofficial score calculators, a built-in graphing calculator, college admissions chances from official U.S. Department of Education data, and a scholarship search. Start free practice →